Why We Can’t “Christianize” Trump

Let’s dispel with the fiction (promoted by certain evangelical political leaders) that Donald Trump is a Christian in the way evangelicals define the word.  I’m somewhat uncomfortable in general questioning the faith of leaders, but I think we can make an exception for Trump because the guy literally said when asked if he’d ever asked God for forgiveness “I am not sure I have. I just go on and try to do a better job from there. I don’t think so.  I think if I do something wrong, I think, I just try and make it right. I don’t bring God into that picture. I don’t.”

In Evangelicalism, literally anyone who has ever been to one day of VBS ever knows that the first component in Salvation is “A: Admit to God that you are a sinner.”  Salvation inherently involves realizing that as humans, we are inherently messed up and have to seek forgiveness for our sins and to rely on God to cleanse us (if you don’t realize you’re never going to meet God’s standard on your own power, then there’s no need for a Savior.)

The evangelical political “leaders” who attempt to “Christianize” Trump are playing a very dangerous game.  I get flip-flopping on policy issues based on who’s in power (it’s not healthy, but I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t been there, done that).  It’s another thing to flip-flop on “what is the gospel” based on whether someone has an R or D next to their name (and let’s be clear, the leaders who are trying to Christianize Trump would never be this lenient to a Democrat who said the things Trump did about forgiveness).

If Donald Trump can be “saved” without ever realizing that he needs God’s forgiveness and can’t meet a standard of holiness on his own power, then logically, how can these “leaders” ever tell anyone else not named Donald Trump ever again that repentance is a necessary component of salvation?  Even if they felt the need to vote for Trump for some reason (extremely problematic in my opinion, but an entirely different discussion altogether), this is a bridge WAY too far.

Leave a Reply

